The Kelvin Club Committee

The Kelvin Club Committee


Debra Allanson

Debra brings 6 years consecutive years of committee service to the Club and her a wealth of experience in the creative industries in deep strategic and operational management roles in television, film, and innovative digital platforms. Debra has worked extensively with start-up teams across a range of digital media businesses. Currently, she is the Executive Director and Co-CEO of the Arena Theatre Company.

“With the Kelvin 2025 plan as my guide, I intend to play my part in ensuring the continued long life and success of the Kelvin Club. I will do this by supporting improvements to services the Club offers to Members and to growth and diversity in our Club’s membership makeup while ensuring our fine old building is properly maintained and that good governance is upheld”.

Vice President

Peter Stefanidis

Experienced Project Specialist with a demonstrated history of working in the telecommunications industry. Skilled in IT Service Management, Test Management, Management, Business Process Improvement, and Integration. Strong program and project management professional with a Bachelor’s Degree focused in Software, Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering from RMIT University


Lawry Grima

Lawry is a highly commercial and entrepreneurial senior executive with over 40 years’ experience across superannuation, insurance, banking, property, research & development, aviation and start-ups. Brands he has worked with have included St. George, ANZ, Bank of Melbourne, National Mutual, Hickory Construction and the Over 50s Group


Miss Pearls

General Committee

Max Allen

Max Allen is an award-winning journalist and author, honorary fellow in history at the University of Melbourne and former creative fellow at the State Library of Victoria. Max has been writing about wine and drinks for almost 30 years: he is columnist for the Australian Financial Review, long time contributor to Gourmet Traveller Magazine, and Australian correspondent for

His latest book, Intoxicating: Ten Drinks That Shaped Australia, published by Thames & Hudson, won the André Simon Memorial Prize in London. He has also served on the committees of the Melbourne Food and Wine Festival and Food + Drink Victoria. “The Kelvin Club is one of the great jewels in Melbourne’s cultural and social crown,” says Max. “I believe I can contribute to the encouraging growth in membership and inclusivity at the club by helping to foster a deep sense of hospitality and enrich the wine and food offering.”

General Committee

Su Baker

The first female President of the Kevin Club. Over my long membership of the Committee of Management Su has worked to increase the diversity of membership and to introduce new members from diverse industries. She serves on the new committee to further this ambition for this unique Melbourne institution.”

Professor Su Baker is the Pro Vice-Chancellor Cultural Partnerships, providing leadership for cultural strategy and practice at the University, and guiding the University’s cultural impact agenda. Su was Head of the School of Art, Victorian College of the Arts, (VCA) at University of Melbourne from 2000-2010, and then Director of the VCA until 2017.

With 30 years’ experience in teaching, research and senior management, she can contribute her significant leadership and management experience to the enhancement of the business success and the cultural program of the Kelvin Club’.

Su is a practicing artist who has exhibited nationally in public and commercial galleries.

General Committee

James Colbert

James has spent most of his life in banking and finance (project & structured financing, international capital markets et. al.) and corporate advisory.

An active Kelvin Club Member from late 1985. Apart from all the repairs & working bees over the years James has instigated most of the musical activity within the club (Jazz, blues, R&B & Rock & Roll) since the mid 90s.

James joined the committee around 2008 and, as VP with John Dall’Amico as President thereafter restructured the club’s finances, and am currently working on restructuring our financing once we can return the club to full profitability post Covid.

Committee Member

Beth Frey

Beth is a multi-award-winning film and television Producer. The winner of an International Emmy®, a British Film and Television Award, multiple Australian Film Institute and Logie Awards, amongst others. She has produced both drama and documentary programs for the major TV networks, including the series Nowhere Boys, Ms Fisher’s Modern Murder Mysteries, Next Stop Hollywood, Vietnam Nurses, Liquid Stone-Unlocking Gaudi’s Secret, and Dr Sarmast’s Music School.

Alongside this, she has also built a successful online retail business, “Mrs Robinson’s Vintage and Designer Recycle”. Prior to entering the film and television industry, Beth held senior management roles in the fashion industry, including eight years as Buying Manager for Susan Corporation. Beth is highly motivated and driven, and if elected to the Kelvin Club Committee, would bring her extensive knowledge and experience to the role.

General Committee

Paul Gooden

Dr. Paul Gooden BSc, MBA, DBA, MAICD, FAIM currently serves on the Committee of Management of the Kelvin Club. He is an active member of the House Committee where he has made a significant contribution to the overall improvements of the Club amenities.
Paul continues his work to improve the Club’s facilities and the quality of offerings for members and guests. Paul believes this improvement is why the Club has seen strong growth in membership during the past year, which is key to the Club’s future. “We must achieve these goals while always being true to our motto to uphold our traditions”.

Paul is an experienced CEO and Director, with strengths in strategy development, organisational re-structures, and investment funding.

General Committee

James Hewison

James Hewison has an international career in Film and the Creative Industries and a strong track record in organisational change and capacity building. As Executive Director of the Melbourne International Film Festival he oversaw its unprecedented growth. At the ACMI he integrated and deepened the moving image offering into the institution’s visitor experience. In 2021 he founded Atelier, a multi-disciplinary creative residency of which he is the Creative Director.

He has also been Mentor for the Australia Council and the Rotterdam International Film Festival, Board Member of Australian Art Orchestra, Alliance Française de Melbourne to Lucy Guerin’s contemporary dance group, consulted to institutions including MONA, the Victorian College of the Arts, Australian Film Television and Radio School, film commissions around Australia and New Zealand, and lectured at Melbourne and Monash Universities.

Immediate Past President

Rhys Watson